[Anime] Summer 2010: Winners/Losers.

Related to: https://sukari89.wordpress.com/2010/07/07/anime-summer-2010/

I’m going to include the end of Spring 2010 as well (the ones I’m watching anyway) – see: huge poster.

As for Summer 2010:

Anime Summer Airtime 2010.

Note: Opinions only reflect my own – flame on anyway if you want.

Spring 2010.

So the anime which I carried over from Spring 2010 were:

  • K-ON!!
  • Giant Killing
  • Kaichou wa Maid-sama

First I’d like to label one of these animes with an “Otsukare sama” (Thank you for your hard work) award.

This will go to K-ON!!

K-ON!!

Although I just read that there will be a huge possibility of a third season I would not be too surprised if there won’t be either. To me K-ON! and K-ON!! have always been about the “Light Music” club in High School, seeing that K-ON!! takes place in most of members’ final year.. it feels like it’s a good finisher to the series.

Having said that, it’s always been great to have a relaxing evening/night catching up with the latest episode of K-ON; they’re light and fluffy episodes that don’t require too much thinking but always manage to bring about a smile.

So thank you for all the laugh out loud moments, the good music, the entertainment, the irreplaceable moe, and of course, thank you for hard work – Otsukare sama!

*—

Note: only relevant to what I’ve watched obviously =P.

So moving onto Summer 2010 which is just finishing up (although the official season has ended :P).

I’m going to keep it simple without typing too much I think.. well I’ll try.

Best/Worst Opening Theme (OP) and Ending Theme (ED).

Best OP for Summer 2010 goes to: Seitokai Yakuindomo – “Yamato Nadeshiko Education (大和撫子エデュケイション)” by Triple Booking.

Seitokai Yakuindomo

There’s something about the song that just makes me want to watch it every single time. To me, that makes a great OP; one that doesn’t make you want to skip it.

Worst OP for Summer 2010 goes to: Shukufuku no Campanella – Shiawase wa Tsuki Yori Takaku (シアワセは月より高く)” by Aki Misato (eps 2-).

Shukufuku no Campanella

Erm.. well it’s not too bad I guess, but if a good OP makes you never skip it, a bad one must make you always skip it; at least this holds true lol.

Best ED for Summer 2010 goes to: Seikimatsu Occult Gakuin – “Kimi ga Iru Basho (君がいる場所)” by Ayahi Takagaki.

Seikmatsu Occult Gakuin

The song is quite nice, and the ED is quite.. unique, well kind of haha. I would’ve liked to give this to Seitokai Yakuindomo again for “Aoi Haru (蒼い春)” by angela but I felt that Seikimatsu Occult Gakin’s

ED was a bit less random :P.

Worst ED for Summer 2010 goes to: Densetsu no Yusha no Densetsu – “Truth Of My Destiny” by Ceui.

Densetsu no Yusha no Densetsu

Er.. It’s quite rare that you see an anime with scrolling credits and still images fading in/out.. feels kind of like.. poor effort? Not memorable at all (runner up would have to be Highschool of the Dead – what ED? lol).

Most Anticipated.

Hands down, this goes to Ookami-san to Shichinin no Nakamatachi – any fan of Toradora! should agree with me on this one I reckon :).

Ookami-san to Shichinin no Nakamatchi

And with one episode left – it sure hasn’t disappointed :).

Most “Looking Forward to”.

That is, which one made me want to watch straight away as soon as the episode was released; which one made me beg for more at the end of each episode..? This goes to: Amagami SS.

Amagami SS

I am loving this anime so far (12th episode coming out soon) – it’s executed so well, exploring all the character paths and stories. Ahh.. nice bite size stories.

Most “Googled”.

That is, the anime that was so interesting it had me Googling for background information. I’m sure you can see where this is going – Seikimatsu Occult Gakuin.

Seikmatsu Occult Gakuin

I have to admit that I’m not a big fan of things like aliens, ghosts, monsters, occult etc etc.. but some of these were quite interesting to search up.

Manga Converter.

This award goes to the anime which made me switch over to the manga (e.g. for Summer 2010 it was Kaichou wa Maid-sama) because of how much it made me beg for more. This goes to: Highschool of the Dead.

Highschool of the Dead

I’m not kidding – I watched the first episode, and spent the next few hours reading the manga.. the way the first episode ended was just too unforgiving haha.

Funniest Anime.

Well this is pretty straight forward. I’m going to give this to Seitokai Yakuindomo.

Seitokai Yakuindomo

This shouldn’t be too surprising considering this series is originally a 4koma manga. But dang it has some dirty references =P.

Biggest Disappoint (Yep, Disappoint).

The description seemed promising :(.. this goes to: Shukufuku no Campanella.

Shukufuku no Campanella

Ahh.. it’s rated one of the lowest for the season too on MAL. It’s such a blush fest, WHY!?

Guess I should be able to put this up for the worst for Summer 2010 from my list haha.

–*

Shall end it there, what did you think? What were your winners/losers for Summer 2010?

One thought on “[Anime] Summer 2010: Winners/Losers.

Leave a Reply

