[Anime] Autumn 2010; An Interesting Mix.

Goooooooooood Morning.

This post has come a bit late (and I almost thought about skipping it all up – GASP!), as it’s taken me awhile to get into the Anime groove for this season because I’ve picked up some Korean Dramas (I think at this rate I’m going to end up writing posts about them too lol).

OK so, what has Autumn 2010 have instore for us?!

Anime - Autumn 2010

 And now the breakdown.. ikuzo~

I’m going to do this a bit differently, I’ll go through the rows and move down one by one (5 rows x 6 columns), then I’ll go through the OVAs.

OK, so.. I guess I’ll bold the ones I’m watching/planning to watch, bold* the ones I’m watching and enjoying/recommending,  italics the ones I heard were good, and underline those I may check out.. hmm for good measure I’ll red the ones I’ve dropped (already lol!). 

Row 1:

Star Diver; once again not a lot of distinct shounen/shoujo animes this season, so if you’re after shounen – this is a good choice.

My Little Sister Can’t be this Cute!* (Ore no Imouto ga Konnani Kawaii Wake ga Nai); this anime has one of the LONGEST names ever.. it’s about Kyousuke’s relationship with his younger sister Kirino – she’s always been cold towards him. However, Kyousuke finds a moe anime DVD in their entry hall, whilst trying to find out who it belonged to in the family, he was shocked to realise that it was actually his sister’s and that she’s actually an otaku and loves eroges. (It had one of the best first episodes I reckon, very funny).

Iron Man; not much I need to say about this right? It’s by MadHouse, maybe it’s good to watch if you’re new to anime haha.

Otome Youkai Zakuro; I’m hoping this one will be decent anyway, I’ll get to it soon haha, from AAN: In an alternate history of the Meiji era where humans and magical beings known as “younin” live side by side, half-younin girls team up with army lieutenants to fight younin wrongdoers.

Togainu no Chi; Now that I think about it, I normally wouldn’t download/watch these type of animes. When I was reading the description from the poster @ AnimeTake, he redded: Warning: contains Shounen-Ai, you’ve been warned! (Google the meaning if you don’t know what it means) Or something like that.. maybe I’ll troll Albert into watching it, from ANN: Several years after the end of a war, the city of Toshima has fallen into decay and been taken over by the crime syndicate Viscio. There, the head of the syndicate, Il Rey, has convened the battle game “Igura.” Meanwhile, Akira, falsely accused of a crime, has made a deal to earn his pardon: go to Toshima, defeat Il Rey, and destroy the syndicate.

Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru; This is one of SHAFT’s Autumn 2010 anime, it sounds pretty good (and I’ve needed my Slice of Life fix for awhile – man I love that genre, School Days LOL!), from ANN: Seaside Maid Cafe in the Maruko Shopping District at first glance seems normal. But its three employees are rather odd: Hotori aspires to be a detective, Toshiko is a perfectionist, and Uki is an old woman with a fondness for maid outfits.

Row 2:

Psychic Detective Yakumo; To be honest, I’ve never really been into these types of animes.. I’ve tried in the past, but didn’t get very far, but this one does look somewhat promising, from ANN: In order to help a friend possessed by a spirit, Ozawa Haruka knocks on the door of her university’s movie research association. There she meets Saitou Yakumo, a rude, unkempt young man with a red left eye, who is said to have spiritual powers. At first Haruka is skeptical, but she comes to believe him when he conveys messages from her older sister, who died when she was a child. Together, they work to shed light on the terrifying events happening at their university. But this is only the prologue of what’s to come…

Kuragahime; Not a lot of information on this at the moment, I read comments that it’s “straight up josei”. The only josei I’ve enjoyed greatly has been Nodame Cantabile.. I might give this a skip, shall see.

Bakuman*; Well if you read the manga you needn’t check this out I guess. But for those who haven’t, like me~ it’s worth checking out. It was a manga about mangakas and drawing manga, but now it’s an anime about mangakas and drawing manga.. no need for a synopsis~

Fortune Arterial; Sounded good, will check it out when I get to it, from ANN: After a childhood full of school transfers, Hasekura Kouhei’s parents finally send him to a traditionally-Christian boarding school so he won’t have to move with them. Finally free to have the calm and uninterrupted school life he’s always wanted, he instead find himself busy with a swarm of idiosyncratic friends.

The World God Only Knows* (Kami Nomi zo Shiru Sekai); Another anime this season that borrows some flavour from eroges. Keima Katsuragi is the “master” of eroges/galges and is able to capture the hearts of all the girls in these games. As a result he receives an invitation to “capture girls” in real life, upon accepting he signs a contract with Hell, assigning him a demon partner Elsee to help him actually capture spirits hidden within real girls which are only released when the Katsuragi can capture the girls’ hearts. Hilarious watching Katsuragi use game strategies to capture the hearts of real girls.

Letter Bee REVERSE (Tegami Bachi Reverse); Second season of Letter Bee (Tegami Bachi) – I didn’t see the first one, but I heard it was good. Expect QQ.

Arakawa Under the Bridge x Bridge; Second season of Arakawa Under the Bridge – have yet to finish, skeptical as to how they could draw out a second season but~

Toaru Majutsu no Index II; Second season of Toaru Majutsu no Index, I needed to watch that still, along with Toaru Kagaku no Railgun (spin-off/side story).

MM!*; Tsundere fix haha, this is a good laugh, very enjoyable so far, from ANN: The story centers the life of Taro Sado going through high school. He came to realize his masochist personality and attempts to conceal this from his crush. To fix it, he enrolled in his school’s “2nd Volunteer Club”.

Hyakka Ryouran Samurai Girls*; It’s like an ecchi take on ancient (kind of) Japanese history lol.. The art is very interesting and the fights are executed very nicely. Furthermore, Rie Kugima is in it!

Motto To-Love-Ru; Um.. haven’t seen the first one, no plans to see it yet either haha.

Sora no Otoshimono: Forte; ditto ^

Row 3:

Hakuouki 2; Yeah once again, haven’t seen the first one haha.

Yosuga no Sora; I would recommend this anime, but it touches on a very grey area; incest so.. I’ll leave it at that for you guys~

Tantei Opera Milky Holmes; sigh.. what was I thinking?

Battle Spirits: Brave; lol, not going to look into this, but the description from the poster/image: Based off a manga about children trading cards.. in America!! hahahaha, if anyone watches this, let me know how it goes lol.

Karl and the Mysterious Tower; not sure, I think it’s for kids but~

“Even Moar” Pokemon; yeah.. why does Ash look like a female now? (ref: image).

Row 4:

Agriculture Musume; Looks like another one for kids, sounds like Harvest Moon haha.

Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt; OK hear me out, I know the name is weird and so is the art.. I was going to skip this too, but I read so many reviews about how epic the first episode was (parodies the style of Western/American cartoons supposedly) so I’ve decided to stick this one out.

Rita et Machin; no idea..

Invasion! Squid Girl (Shinryaku! Ika Musume); Depending on how the first episode goes.. I’ll see (it’s Comedy + Slice of Life), from ANN: Squid Girl has come to the land from the depths of the sea to conquer humanity for its pollution of the ocean. Unfortunately she ruins the first house she uses as an invasion base and has to work to pay for repairs. Of course, she can’t overcome the Aizawa sisters who manage the house, so who knows whether she can subjugate humankind.

Super Robot Wars: The Inspector; according to the image: It’s a bunch of gigantic robots beating each other up. I suppose that is its selling point too.

Robin and his 100 Friends; nah..

OVAs/Specials:

Just the ones I’m going to check out/looking forward to:

  • Kuttsukiboshi
  • Tamayura
  • Koe de Oshigoto!

Annnnnnnnnd that’s it~ Have a nice day everyone 🙂

Leave a Reply

