[Sc2] GSL3 – Invasion of the Foreigners*.

*Mad kudos to Hao for the title-steal; visit his site and give him lots of love.

So with GSL2 finished over the weekend and the GSL3 qualifiers finished yesterday (within 2 days, wow!).. thought I’ll throw some thoughts down on both of these tournaments.

Let’s start with a Sc2 related video:

/Spoilers ahead – then again as Eugene said, if people cared they would know already. He does have a point =P.

GSL2 Recap->

Yes I know the borders are terrible – will need to do a theme change sometime/purchase CSS haha..

So GSL2 ended up with another 3 Terran, 1 Zerg Round of 4, with the Zerg coming of top again as the champion.

In a way I’m happy for NesTea (aka ZergBong in BW) who took the championship as he didn’t have a great pro-career in StarCraft: BroodWar and still managed to come to Sc2 and snag the trophy at the age of 29. What a beast but, only dropping 3 games in the whole tournament, and those 3 games were only in the finals, so prior to that he was wiping everyone in his bracket, including The Emperor SlayerS_BoxeR himself.

But I’m sad for my fellow Terran, (fake) BoxeR (aka Foxer/Fauxer/OptimusPrime <- current) who I’m sure surprised everyone by getting so far, despite having a crappy first round game. He’s only 18 and I’m sure it’s only a matter of time before he wins something – I just hope his play style is able to adapt.

Despite the finals not being the dream TvT that a lot of people would have hoped for; BoxeR v SlayerS_BoxeR. The 7 game finals was very enjoyable; a nail biter indeed; very laggy too!!

On the foreign scene I’m quite happy that EG.IdrA advanced further than GSL1, but I feel that he needs to work on his ZvZ. But I’m a bit disappointed that TLO was defeated by SangHo, and unfortunately he’s not participating in GSL3 :(.

There were a lot of new faces in GSL2, some of which are definitely players to watch out for, like Leenock, the kid is good, and will only get better.

The Protoss race may be arguably underpowered at the moment, but I do hope that the Protoss players will step up a bit; both Iron (aka oGsMC) and NEXGenius (winner of Blizzcon ’10) were good hopes for Protoss. But both seemed to have shown a bit too much ego and got punished for it haha.

Quick Ro64 -> Ro32 crunch:

  • Terran  had 29 in the Ro64, 13 advanced to the Ro32 (~45%)
  • Zerg  had 15 in the Ro64, 11 advanced to the Ro32 (~73%)
  • Protoss  had 20 in the Ro64, 8 advanced to the Ro32 (~40%)

Hopefully the numbers will be more balanced this season, well hopefully the percentages anyway.

GSL3 Outlook->

*lists are from TeamLiquid

With the qualifiers wrapping up very fast (2 days, morning to midnight?!), here are the results:

Qualified Players (Ro64):

LiberoPrime
Syj (MioWeRRa)
HopeTorture
sCfOu
Liquid`Jinro
MonkeyEars (몽몽귀)
ST.Clide
oGsHyperdub
PoltPrime
MakaPrime
NEXON
TheBestfOu
시나브로프라임
Destination
Aya
aLivefOu
Bless
라츠
FoxeR (OptimusPrime)
SlayersBoxer
IMMvp
TSL.Rain
LittleBoy
나비효과 (ChaosTheory)
*–
Terran count: 24

Liquid`HayprO
oGsZenio
Liberty (Moon)
Sleep
엔에스피준
드리마이저제니스 (DreamizEr)
안녕프라임 (HelloPrime)
IMJunwiPirme
ST.Superstar
NEXDrug
LeenockfOu
oGsTheWind
NesTea
FruitDealer
ST.Monster
Liquid`Ret
EGIdra
JookToJung
창조의아침
NEXLine
Sen
토샤드
KyrixZenith
GoldenfOu
VealSteak ((Z)July in BW)
CheckPrime
NEXNaya
*–
Zerg count: 27

oGsMC
cOreZenith
TSL.GuineaPig (EternalPrime)
anyproPrime
NEXChoa
HongUnPrime
cyrano
choyafOu
oGsVINES
ST.BoogieBoy
Banbanssu
Genius
*–
Protoss count: 12

GuMihofOu
*–
Random count: 1

Bit sad that Cella didn’t qualify again :(.

So if you have a quick look at the list you’ll notice that there’s more foreigners this time around, I’ll be rooting for my fellow Taiwanese, Sen despite him being a Zerg player haha. I’m glad that Jinro managed to qualify but, 3rd time lucky!

Notable players who did not qualify:

GSL 2 Participants

oGsEnsnare
LegalMind
NaDa
오지에스잉카 (oGsInca)
블리치 (Bleach)
BabyByeBye
Cargo
Ace
즐겨찢기
길자 (Sync)
Loner
수호신
oGsCezanne
BabyWeRRa
테리우스
PhoenixWeRRa
rain
FlintZenith
oGsGon
박종혁
SoundWeRRa
Apple
TankboyPrime
짝지
반반치킨
NEXKYumer
Happiness
Chief
Suzy
Garnet
삐삐
ReXZanDarke
FreeDSL
Overthezero

Others

oGsTOP
iNcontroL
KiWiKaKi
Artosis
TorcH
Liquid`Huk
Cella
Tester
SeleCT

Notice anything wrong with the list?? NaDa failed to qualify and that is quite surprising =/. Loner from China also did not make it, despite doing very well in GSL2.

Some of the foreigners listed above were very close to qualifying too.. I believe a large number of them were on their final round to qualification. Once again Tester could not qualify.

It’s going to be an interesting GSL3 if the foreigners are not just going to be Ro64 fodder. I hope that the random player GuMihofOu does well too.

Personal Favourites->

So if I had to choose 2 players from each race to go for..

Terran: SlayerS_Boxer and OptimusPrime
Zerg: Sen and Leenock (kid’s got talent, want to see him do well)
Protoss: none, LOL jk – oGsMC/Iron and NEXGenius

I suppose the Protoss players can be hoping for a patch mid-tournament haha.

I hope they bring the Street Fighter announcer back!

Going to be exciting :), hwaighting~!!

7 thoughts on “[Sc2] GSL3 – Invasion of the Foreigners*.

  1. Hans says:

    Leenock, lol what a joke. I doubt any of the new foreigners are gonna do well this season apart from Ret and Idra maybe. So sad that SeleCt didn’t make it through.

    • sukari89 says:

      Oh really.. haha I thought he said in the finals interview that he would.

      Ah well. Hey man, give the kid some credit 😛 He’ll be fine!

      • Hans says:

        ‘Marine king’ BoxeRPrime has easily qualified for the GSL.

        Q. How does it feel to qualify?
        A. I thought that it should be a given for a runner-up to advance. I’m relieved that I did.

        Q. You seem different from last season.
        A. The atmosphere is different. I was very nervous going into the qualifiers, but I was very relaxed this time.

        Q. Was there any damage to taking second place?
        A. I didn’t think I’d lose while preparing for the final, I was sure that I would win. I suffered a lot, but I as able to practice again due to today’s qualifiers.

        Q. You must still be disappointed about the 7th set.
        A. That game was the worst game I ever played. The location spawns were good and I was confident in my build. It got destroyed due to my own fault, it was disappointing for sure.

        Q. Do you realize that you are becoming famous?
        A. I can kind of feel that. I’m just thankful, and I should start taking care of my fans.

        Q. So, you will not change your ID?
        A. OptimusPrime is only given to the the greatest Prime member. I didn’t win, so I should look for a next opportunity. I’m going to keep using the ID BoxeR for now.

        Q. Do you think this season will be harder compared to the last?
        A. I think everyone that qualifies to the GSL is good. Seasons 1, 2 and 3 should be similar in skill level, and season 3 should be just as hard.

        Q. You even said that you would win purely with marines in an interview.
        A. I said that without meaning to. I wasn’t pressured, but it kind of came out, because I liked marines so much. I was sort of aiming for mind games with that comment.

        Q. Any comments?
        A. Thank you to coach of IM, Kang Dong-Hoon, for letting me use his keyboard. He’s the best!

  2. sukari89 says:

    Haha icic.. well something to “aim” for maybe :P.

    lol he didn’t have his own keyboard?! geez..

    Any hopes you’re going for?

  3. misdreavous says:

    gsl1 -> gathering of the amateurs
    gsl2 -> attack of the ex BW pro-gamers
    gsl3 -> invasion of the foreigners
    Sif copy me for some of the lines….=P

Leave a Reply

