Starting the Preparation Earlier?

Do you remember at what age your parents started to teach you to talk, read, and write?

Do you remember at what age your parents sent/let you to (pre-)school?

Do you remember at what age your parents sent you to tuition?

I don’t know how relevant this would be for other countries, but it seems apparent in Australia that parents are starting to “prep” their children earlier and earlier.

Good thing? Hmm..

I wonder when we reached this mentality, it’s kind of scary now that I think about it.

As a kid, I rarely heard of tuition classes, and now, like a lot of Asian countries, it’s almost standard for some families.

The preparation doesn’t just start from when the children are born either, I have talked to couples who have been planning for new property because they are about to have children:

What’s a good suburb? What’s a good primary school? What’s a good high school? Are the teachers good? Is it co-education?

It’s a weird feeling.

Yesterday (Friday) at work, we had a social event in the park (kind of just lazing around and chatting), one of my co-workers, knowing I was a graduate who has recently finished University and thus would have survived the whole high school and HSC drama, turned around and started asking me questions related to how I made the decision to go down the career-path I have chosen.

Asking me what courses should his son take in year 11 and 12 to help his University experience.

I asked him before answering anything; “What grade is your son in?”

Year 10.

Heck, I remember my year 10 was along the lines of “Who cares?” Those of us who survived the HSC drama knew that the years which mattered the most were 11 and 12, and not even all of 11.

That was when we started to see stars from our cohort shine; classmates who we never would’ve imagined contending for the top ranks bursting out of their shell.

In my last job, I remember having lunch with a bunch of co-workers, two of which were a married couple. The two of them were announcing that they were looking for a new property in a different suburb. They mentioned that one of the important factors was that the suburb has to have a good high school.

This lead to an interesting conversation of them asking me which high school I went to and..

.. was it good? Were the teachers good? Was it a selective school? Was it a private school? Was it co-educational?

In which I replied, “Yes. Yes. No. No. Yes.”

All which were fine, until they heard the last answer.

Wait, what? So I exclaimed, “Haha, you have daughters, right?”

No, we have sons.

“What? Then what’s the problem?”

I don’t want parents knocking on my door in case my sons knocked up their daughters.

Ahhhh.. of course- what!? Wait! Time out! Time out!

OK, so that was a BIT weird.. so then I asked..

“Ahh.. how old are they?”

Three and four.

Ahh.. WHAT!?

Then the conversation kind of led on to an interesting one about at which (young) age they were going to start sending their children to tuition. Geez.. they’re not even in pre-school yet.

Have we really (finally?) reached that mentality in Australia where we need that early “advantage” to get ahead in life?

From my University-Job application experience I started to notice that people/social/communication skills tend to be more important. Sure, you’re intelligent, the companies know that, but can you convince them to hire you in an hour?

I wonder if our future society will end up with people who have high IQs but low EQs..

So when would you send your kids to school?

 

2 thoughts on “Starting the Preparation Earlier?

  1. Your Brother says:

    Waste of time and money. Let them develop their own interests, kick them back on the morally correct path if they stray.

  2. angela says:

    You know, whenever I’m in paediatric clinic I gotta ask the parents whether their child reached all their developmental milestones. I’m just scared that one day they’ll tell me their child reached all their milestones before they were born.

Leave a Reply

