NBA 2011-2012.

So for those who don’t know yet (shame on you!), the owners and players have come to a tentative agreement (and ended the 149 day lockout) — once the dotted line is signed we’ll get a 66-game regular season starting on Christmas Day (Boxing Day for us).

The NBA site looks even more boring than it was during lockout.. Never mind, it’s back to its former glory 😀

Get that weak stuff outta here.

I’m not sure about you, but I for one remain hopeful.

Having said that, there have also been some pretty interesting trade talks! There are a few things I love about the NBA, these are probably:

  1. The Chicago Bulls
  2. The Denver Nuggets (more on this later)
  3. Trades (and trade rumours / talks)

Why the 3rd? Well, to me it’s like this period of chaos, but controlled chaos — it’s a whole bunch of “What If’s”, some far-fetched ideas could suddenly twist and become a reality. Some may catch you by surprise (*cough* Perkins to OKC), leave you with mixed feelings (Melo to New York), and make you a whole city mad (Lebron to Miami). I’ll go into this a bit later, actually, the rest of this post will be about this :P.

So I made a little note on the Denver Nuggets, few things:

  1. Why do I go for them?
  2. Why do I still go for them?
  3. OMGWTF?

One at a time, 1: I only started following the NBA in mid-2010. Why? Because Rowan brought over NBA2k10 and hooked up 7 controllers to it, hella fun. Afterwards I went out and bought it for myself, when selecting teams I was trying to remember which team MrChiCity3 used. Took awhile to remember because I watched this video back in 2008, at first I thought it was Detroit Pistons, but after re-watching the video, I remember him calling out “Melo!” so I later figured out he was using the Denver Nuggets.

For that year I mainly followed the Nuggets and they had a pretty good run in the 2009-2010 season despite losing to the Utah Jazz (grr!).

Needless to say Carmelo Anthony, Chauncy Billups and JR Smith were among my favourite players.

But mid-season in 2010-2011 Melo was traded to the New York Knicks along with Billups — I can’t believe I’m in New York City; my dream came true.

I’ll give him props for 1] not pulling a Lebron 2] Being able to play for his home town. Well look, Knicks were a pretty good team to watch the later half of the season.

But 2: Why still? Because despite becoming a major “under dog” the Nuggets didn’t slow down. Despite losing their starting point guard and small forward, other players like Afflalo, Lawson, Smith, Nene etc.. picked up the slack and kept the momentum going. Even though they didn’t get out of the first round, at least they still made the play offs.

However now.. 3: I’m not sure how I feel about the situation the Nuggets are in for the 2011-2012 season. JR Smith and Kenyon Martin both have to finish their contracts in China, so that’s 2 of the 5 starters out. Nene apparently wants to get out of Denver too, 3/5 starters out. Felton, the back up point guard was traded for an older Andre Miller. Afflalo is also a free agent too, Denver is trying to hold onto him too, but might come down to loyalties. Sad :(, time to rebuild?!

OK. Main chunk of the post should be here..

What I hope to see / think will happen  in the 2011-2012 Season (Assuming there is one ¬_¬)

  1. Chris Paul to New York
  2. Dwight Howard to stay in Orlando
  3. Nene to stay (but I don’t think he will)
  4. Jimmer Fredette to make it RAIN from beyond the arc
  5. Rondo will be traded
  6. Celtics will not be as much of a threat
  7. OKC will have a great season
  8. Wizards’ new uniform will grow on me
  9. Lakers will not get to the finals (sorry Rowan)
  10. Heat should get to the conference finals again
  11. Bulls to be the 2011-2012 champions (and Rose to be the post-season MVP ;))

Go Bulls

Cannot wait for the trade deadline, argh.
Love this game.
Leave a Reply

