Wrapping up the Year.

So 2011 is coming to an end and although I would’ve loved to slam out a corkboard review again I realised I just didn’t have that many photos to do so (more on this later!).

It’s been a very fast year, I’ll probably start saying this every year but it’s just how it felt – is it a sign of getting older too?

But do you know what the greatest thing about the new year is?

To me it’s about leaving the year behind and starting a new year. We often use the saying at certain points in our lives, “starting a new chapter” but to me starting a new year is like starting a new book. Think about it, for those who still use paper organisers you will be starting a new one – I definitely will be!

Starting fresh!

So how did my 2011 fair up then? Well..

~I reckon that if I was to look back in a few years time and recall what the key events in 2011 were, I’d probably say:

  • Graduation

Thank you mum 🙂

  •  Starting Work

"Get in the photo Ben! You know you're going to end up joining us."

  •  Moving Houses

I'm sorry Lydia.. forgive me 😦

~But like every year, it’s always a chance to start / try new things!

  • Snowboarding!

After tumbling to a halt.

  • Tuesday Night Basketball & Thursday Basketball – no photos unfortunately 🙂 But a huge thanks to all the ballers who show up! Especially to those that show up week after week.
    • On that note I’d just like to say I’ve gotten to meet so many new people in 2011 which I am always grateful for.
  • Bom’s Cafe on Saturdays (well I tried! Yes, it’s still on when we can!)

Cup holders 😛

  • City2Surf (I will definitely challenge this again next year)

Chaffing.. will definitely keep that in mind.

~I never really state out my resolutions for the new year, in fact I don’t think I ever explicitly do them.. but I reckon I always subtly have a few things I want to do – becoming a better person & improving yourself should be a continuous journey right? Having said that, promises met for this year:

  • Join a gym / regular exercise
  • Start reading the books I buy
  • Make a conscious effort to keep in contact with friends
  • Be more independent
~And with that, I will always have things I need to work on (newly realised or existing):
  • Attention to detail
  • Asking the right question(s)!
  • Becoming completely independent 🙂
  • Get (and stay) fit
  • Stop impulse buying .__________.
  • Worry less, live more.
OK, fun stuff time.
~Top Games for me in 2011 (most time/effort spent):
  • StarCraft II
  • Battlefield 3
  • NBA2K12
~Top Books for me in 2011 (most enjoyed — Yes I still have a tonne to finish!):
  • Norwegian Wood
  • The Aquariums of Pyongyang
  • The Kite Runner
~Song that got the most “Repeats”:
(This should really be a no-brainer, hint – banner)
So with 2 days to go until the new year.. how am I feeling hmm.. well first of all, I can’t wait for Google to make another “year in review” video. But all and all I’m quite excited. I honestly don’t feel that it’ll be any sudden changes but at the back of my mind I know I’ll be one year older (and hopefully more mature!!) and be making bigger decisions in life.. but I think I’ve learnt to cross that bridge when I get there.
~So with that I leave a couple of rough notes on what I want to do in 2012:
  • Visit my good friend Hans Hadiardja in South Korea
    • Congratulations again mate, I’m sure you’ll LOVE it there. So much so that I’m also sure you’ll find a lovely wife. Just remember that you were once Indo-Chinese living in Sydney, Australia. Yes, I really believe you’ll love it that much 😛
  • Visit Japan
  • Read more books
  • Finish (keyword) more games
  • Take more road trips
    • Probably Tamworth (congratulations Angela :)) and perhaps Canberra (congratulations Fred, going to miss you on the court!)
  • Take more photos
    • Told you I’ll get back to this 🙂
  • Go snowboarding again (and get a snowboard maybe)
Of course the list will grow.. but nothing wrong with laying a little foundation!
So until next year my friends! (Ps. the trollin’ will not stop).

Have a great New Year’s and keep it safe 🙂


Leave a Reply

