S.Korea Trip ’12 – Part 3

Thinking how I’ll cut this entry down a bit hmm.. time to be selective with the photos I guess.

Been quite a week – body feels a bit sore all over, probably have been overworking it a bit too much.. Hopefully just sore and nothing serious.

Right so last post I kind of cheated by posting a photo of Cheonggye Stream.. I should be able to include that in this post. What a thought.. this was supposed to be the last part..

Erm.. so it’s Sunday – still in Seoul..

War Memorial of Korea - Itaewon

War Memorial of Korea – Itaewon

OK let me try remember.. ah right, breakfast.

So we woke up next morning and went walking around the Hongdae area in search of breakfast. It wasn’t until then I realised that food stores and stores in general I guess in Korea don’t open until later in the day.. so really.. I don’t actually know what Korean restaurants serve for breakfast haha.

We hopped into a Dunkin’ Donuts – first time trying that :O. Didn’t even get donuts haha.

These buzzers have ads.. video ads..!!

These buzzers have ads.. video ads..!!

I think ordering here in English was OK too haha.

Dunkin' Donuts

Dunkin’ Donuts

Mm egg muffin..

Today we aimed to go to the War Memorial and Gangnam. We managed to sneak in COEX Mall for Kimchi Museum too. Hans had a KTX to catch back to Daegu that night.

War Memorial of Korea - Itaewon

War Memorial of Korea – Itaewon

I think I tend to enjoy learning about a country’s modern history when I visit a country. This seems to be true for Taiwan, the USA and South Korea was no exception (even though South Korea came before USA in terms of trip timelines).

There’s something interesting about learning about their modern history that helps shape understanding and the way I see a country I suppose. Then again, always a good read / experience. So I usually make sure I have some time to do some of these things on trips.

War Memorial of Korea - Itaewon

War Memorial of Korea – Itaewon

I have to say that this was one of the biggest memorials I have ever set foot in. It took quite awhile just to step inside because of all the displays and army models outside.

War Memorial of Korea - Itaewon

War Memorial of Korea – Itaewon

Like every war memorial, it wouldn’t be complete without the mentioning of those who dedicated their lives protecting the country they love.

War Memorial of Korea - Itaewon

War Memorial of Korea – Itaewon

The museum photos probably took up a large chunk of the total photo count considering I’m not usually a mass photo taker. So I’ll skip out on A LOT of the photos – just some major highlights.

Hans' favourite (stupid) AOE2 unit.

Hans’ favourite (stupid) AOE2 unit.

Haha I remember walking by downstairs and seeing this through one of the corridors, we quickly rushed over to take photos – never understood why this unit was his favourite. Just choose a map that had no water, gees.

War Memorial of Korea - Itaewon

War Memorial of Korea – Itaewon

This had an interesting name! I can’t remember how exactly it was supposed to work but I think it involved gunpowder haha, similar to fireworks or something.

War Memorial of Korea - Itaewon

War Memorial of Korea – Itaewon

Very nice memorial, located in Itaewon in Seoul – definitely work a look. It was a free entry too because it’s a government sponsored museum. I kind of wish I spent a bit more time in Itaewon having a look around because it would have been interesting to see the clash of cultures with the US Army Base located there and all.

So the next stop I believe was Apgujeong-dong in Gangnam. Why Gangnam? It was 2012, what song got 1 billion hits on YouTube in 2012? Yeah, that’s why (currently 1,391,379,041).

Er.. forgot the park name, yay!

Er.. forgot the park name, yay!

I think the guide map I picked up when I first arrived in Seoul station said that this park was worth having a look. Was a nice park but I don’t remember the name.. was dedicated to someone..

KyoChon - the fried chicken hunt never stops.

KyoChon – the fried chicken hunt never stops.

As we couldn’t get our fried chicken the night before due to my poor effort in ordering.. we managed to come across KyoChon (is a chain). This particular shop had a bunch of signed clay hands from Super Junior. Try to remember the flavours.. I think one of them was garlic and the other was sweet. Mm delicious :D!

LV in Gangnam

LV in Gangnam

Did a bit of walking around in search of Rodeo Street but I don’t think we found it :/. This shop did stand out though haha.

It was interesting arriving in Apgujeong metro station as when you’re exiting the station you start seeing plastic surgery ads everywhere. Definitely the rich and fancy district of Seoul hehe.

Afterwards we headed towards COEX Mall to check out the Kimchi Museum which also got a mention. This was probably one of the smallest museums I have ever been too but it was nice to see all the different variations of kimchi that are around along with the different origins of each type.

Kimchi Museum in COEX Mall

Kimchi Museum in COEX Mall

Unfortunately everything on display was just one of those really well made plastic things – can’t have it going off now can we? Haha.

Kimchi Museum in COEX Mall

Kimchi Museum in COEX Mall

Oops, got distracted with YouTube for a sec. Oh I remember, there was a section in the museum that let you try some of the kimchi.. but yeah nah didn’t touch it haha.

We had to head back soon after to give Hans enough time to pack so he could catch his KTX.

(Blurry) ddeokbokki - street vendor / cart style!

(Blurry) ddeokbokki – street vendor / cart style!

There was always this ddeokbokki vendor near the hostel so we decided to stop by this time and have some – I think it was what, 2000Won? Like 2 dollars for a plate and unlimited fish flake tea / soup thing. Mm nice and spicy haha, probably wasn’t a good idea trying to rush this down! Delicious nonetheless.

So after Hans left I decided to go out for a bit of a walk towards City Hall where the stream starts. I think at this point it started to rain a bit too so I didn’t stay out for long.

Start of the stream - looks like a conch shell to me.

Start of the stream – looks like a conch shell to me.

You’ll have to bear with me as I can’t take photos properly at night without flash haha.

Excuse the blur - I have shaky hands :D

Excuse the blur – I have shaky hands 😀

I think I stood on the stairs trying to get a not-so-blurry photo of this.. took awhile.

Walked by a lot of couples..

Walked by a lot of couples..

There were a few “tunnel” sections as I walked down. I have a feeling this is more of a romantic / couple spot.. because I walked by quite a few haha. Kind of felt out of place. Oh, at one point / one of the tunnels they had a space which was displaying some art. I think that changes every now and then.

Didn't walk too far up, got a bit dark =P

Didn’t walk too far up, got a bit dark =P

You can tell it’s getting quite a bit further down as it’s not as well lit anymore.. I wonder what’s around the stream hmm forgot to check that.

This screen can be hired out for things like.. marriage proposals.

This screen can be hired out for things like.. marriage proposals.

I read up about this section of the stream :O would be interesting haha – hiring out the waterfall stream to deliver your love message~~

I think I’ll end part 3 here. Wow, 3 parts and we’re still in Seoul – one more day of Seoul too.. I had a flick through the photos, I think the rest won’t be too long as I didn’t take too many photos in Daegu.

Ah well, until part 4! Happy Friday everyone!!

Leave a Reply

