New Zealand Trip 2014!

Since I have tomorrow off I thought I may as well type this up because I haven’t been posting much anyway!

Snow trip.. snowboarding.. it’s something that’s been lingering in the back of my mind since 2011 when I was invited to try snowboarding for the first time.

To me the experience of carving through snow (well “leaf~ing” haha :P) was a feeling I have been wanting to relive since I got back that weekend. Unfortunately towards the end of that year I injured my left knee (and re-injured!) which made me skip out of 2012 completely out of caution.

Last year was a good chance but I guess laziness took over. So this year I was determined to make sure I at least go once (namely to see how my knee would stick it out – that mental image of it twisting always haunts me.. ugh..). But at the same time it was a chance to continue my quest of world travel!

Lake Wanaka

Sunset @ Lake Wanaka, Otago

The holiday came at a good time though because I could start feeling myself being a bit burnt out from work and university commitments. Having said that, I’m extremely grateful that E, Pegs and M-dawg accompanied me throughout this quick break and my weird antics πŸ™‚

New Zealand, although she’s like a close neighbour of Australia I haven’t dropped by to visit yet. But with a short break between semesters I was determined to try get some kind of time away from the country.

IMAG3478

“On Loan from Middle Earth” haha – even had the moss!

So our first stop was Auckland, for the pure purpose of going on theΒ Hobbiton Movie Set Tour; technically that would be in Matamata which is terribly annoying (and expensive) to fly to, so why not just go to Auckland where the accommodation is cheaper and take an excuse to drive/cruise down? πŸ™‚

There wasn’t too much time left of the first night after we settled down – took me forever to reach the apartment and it just had to be built on an incline.. What’s with New Zealand and their one-way streets/parking?!

Ken's Yakitori

Ken’s Yakitori – Sashimi Platter

Ken's Yakitori

Ken’s Yakitori

Ken's Yakitori - Ken's Karage (with cornflakes!)

Ken’s Yakitori – Ken’s Karage (with cornflakes!)

I found Auckland pretty interesting, felt a bit like Sydney in some respects.. just some – like the massive amounts of Korean and Japanese restaurants o.o but definitely much quieter!

The apartment stayed at had a pretty nice view, pity it was situated next to a cemetery (ooooohhh~~~).

View from the apartment

View from the apartment

Gotta say, so much easier to drive around though! But that’s probably because the population of New Zealand is so much smaller..

Anyway, once again, the main purpose of the Auckland leg was for the drive down to Matamata:

Broom broom~

Broom broom~

En route!

En route!

Hobbiton Movie Set - Shire's Rest

Hobbiton Movie Set – Shire’s Rest

Bag End!

Bag End!

Sam's :)

Sam & Rosie’s πŸ™‚

View from the Green Dragon Inn

View from the Green Dragon Inn

Overall it was a great tour! It’s amazing how much effort was put into the detail of the movie set – from things such as real vegie patches to miniature clothing lines.. just crazy details and I could only imagine how much maintenance work is required.

Was pretty hard not to chuckle every time the tour guide would mention the word “set” or “get” or “destination” teehee.

Oh and their beef + ale pie was pretty amazing!

The next major leg of this trip was to Queenstown, namely Coronet Peak to carve up some snow.

View from the Queenstown airport

View from the Queenstown airport

Coronet Peak

Coronet Peak

Coronet Peak

Coronet Peak

Coronet Peak

Coronet Peak

Coronet Peak

Coronet Peak

Coronet Peak

Coronet Peak

A big shoutout to M-dawg for spending the time to help us out and giving us pointers. I’m pretty happy that I’m starting to get toe-side down as well as linking turns!

Such a scary concept though; speeding up to slow down.. how weird.

But I’m definitely feeling less sore nursing less bruises than the first time!

Well done to both E and Pegs for sticking it out for those 2 days, hopefully it was somewhat enjoyable for the two of you too.

Apart from Hobbiton and the snows we managed to squeeze in a few sights – namely Lake Wanaka and Lake Wayne Hayes:

Ah.. elusive Lake Hayes that does indeed exist.

Ah.. elusive Lake Hayes that does indeed exist.

Too bad I couldn’t bring my phone with me to Lake Wanaka as it ran flat on juice.. going to have to depend on E and Pegs for that one.

But of course, a trip with this group wouldn’t be complete without some food photos – having said that, I was originally a bit worried we’d struggle to find some good food spots but I think we did alright!

Can't remember this cafe's name.. damn.. but I know M-dawg almost ordered PORRIDGE

Can’t remember this cafe’s name.. damn.. The Exchange (thanks E)Β but I know M-dawg almost ordered PORRIDGE

And again..

And again.. whoa, blurry

Fergburger!

Fergburger!

Found this one next to a little Chinese takeaway

Found this one next to a little Chinese takeaway

So many pancakes..

So many pancakes..

Hell Pizza

Hell Pizza

Brazz - only remember this because it was today haha.

Brazz – only remember this because it was today haha.

Anyway I think that would about sum up the trip.. it’s been a good couple of days and I’ll definitely try to squeeze in some more snow trips before the season ends if possible. Otherwise.. there’s always next year.. and Japan.. ah.. Japan..

Thanks again guys for coming along and making this possible πŸ™‚

Now to re-apply Deep Heat.. that Deep Heat.

Leave a Reply

