Thredbo Snow Trip ’14

I have been thinking whether or not I should write something up for this weekend trip I took to Thredbo in early August. On one hand I felt like from a travel perspective there was probably nothing too special about the trip.. however on the other hand my blog’s inactivity is really racking up (and it’s only looking to get worse after this post).

Day 1 Finish @ Friday Flats

Day 1 Finish @ Friday Flats

As mentioned in my previous post for New Zealand, going back to the snows is something that I have been wanting to do since 2 years ago. But after hearing how great the snowfall has been for the Snowy Mountains this year I pounced on the opportunity to take advantage of this rare occurrence (thanks Mick for organising)!

But there was something else that I wanted to try on this trip – driving there, as I wanted to test the car.

The windscreen battle every morning!

The windscreen battle every morning!

Lesson learnt: the freaking water tank freezes over 😦 had to learn that the hard way (I guess CL would laugh at me since she did try to warn me).

So the drive took about 6 hours as expected, however what I didn’t expect was dodging massive wombats – seriously, it just looked like a massive brown ball!

Anyway, this post is about a snow trip so I should probably talk about that.

Day 1: Friday Flats, Walkabout, Squatters Run, Dream (freaking) Run, High (freaking) Noon.

Nothing too crazy today, some went to Thredbo Village side of the ski fields, some had lessons which meant I spent the majority of the morning solo. A quick refresher on Friday Flats to make sure I still remembered how to change from heel to toe and toe to heel.

After that I went through the green runs a few times. Around about lunch time it struck me, how do I get back down? I realised when I was at the bottom of Cruiser there was only 2 ways down: slow chair lift or the blue Dream Run.. I decided to take Dream Run which ended up just being a massive steep hill 😦

Start of Walkabout from Gunbarrel

Start of Walkabout from Gunbarrel

Got some really nice powder on the first day

Got some really nice powder on the first day

End of the green runs @ Cruiser

End of the green runs @ Cruiser

After the lunch the others also came along up to take on some of the green runs I was doing in the morning. We also made the awesome decision to take High Noon (blue) back down which was quite an interesting experience (for snow eating).

Day 2: Walkabout, Squatters Run, Thredbo Village, Eagle Way (part), Village Trail, Sundowner (part)

Took it a little easier on day 2 because the legs are usually mad at me for the abuse from day 1. We had a nice lunch after a few green runs in one of the bars in Thredbo Village (I’ve never actually been that side before). Afterwards some of us went up Kosciuszko Express to board our way down to Friday Flats – interesting experience, but man some of those blue runs are scary.

Bottom of Cruiser - morning of day 2

Bottom of Cruiser – morning of day 2

End of day 2

End of day 2

We topped off day 2 with a very nice dinner @ Black Bear Inn but I’ll save the photos because some get offended with the quality of them 😦

Day 3: Friday Flats, Walkabout, Squatters Run, Dream Run

I took it a bit easier on the last day because my legs were pretty much spent. Having said that, I also had to drive another 6 hours so I had to make sure I had the energy to do that 🙂

Kicked off with Friday Flats to build confidence

Kicked off with Friday Flats to build confidence

Was pretty windy today - if you look closely you can actually see the rolling powder

Was pretty windy today – if you look closely you can actually see the rolling powder

Stupid Dream/Death Run

Stupid Dream/Death Run

Totaled up 1170km over the weekend :)

Totaled up 1170km over the weekend 🙂

That Dream Run though.. first it was just steep, then it was ICE, then it was BLACK (rocks??). Somehow plowed my way down haha.

But all in all it was a pretty good weekend! So glad that I managed stay awake throughout those long drives (thanks CL for keeping me up even though you started going delirious).

Unfortunately I think this closes out my snow adventures for 2014 because my wallet is begging me to stop :(.

Until next year!!

2 thoughts on “Thredbo Snow Trip ’14

  1. S says:

    Damm wallets getting in the way of snow adventures – mine wouldn’t even let me do one this year (next year though, I’m def having one next year).
    Nice blog post – if your worried about you blog getting empty you should start doing food posts again, I can email or drop box you photos of sufficient quality to keep people happy :).

    • sukari89 says:

      Haha I don’t do food posts well, I’m too lazy to go into the intrinsic details of things =P

      “It was alright.”

      “Guess it tasted nice.”

Leave a Reply

