S01E03: Le Food & Le Drink: Tokonoma (AKA pro foodbloggers only)

I have been holed up in my little bunker at home for awhile. I feel like my skin hasn’t been graced with the presence of sunlight for awhile now. It’s been a pretty tough week as well, one of the longer ones recently.

I have an assignment deadline looming over me with ones that have larger weighting in queue.. the 2nd half of this semester is going to be a real test of will. I feel like my games are starting to talk to me – “play me, play me..” or my sport equipment whispering, reminding me to exercise and making me feel guilty..

Ah food.. you’re the only one that understands me.

So E organised this deal for Tokonoma today, which was a good opportunity to catch up with the cafe/food buddies.

Tokonoma

490 Crown Street, Surry Hills NSW

After I located the main entrance for this restaurant (there is Tokonoma and Toko, don’t get confused – both 490 Crown – yeah I know) and pushed through the grand wooden door.. Well, these photos are going to suck 🙂

Squint carefully, the words appear I promise.

Squint carefully, the words appear I promise.

Salmon Tartare.

Salmon Tartare.

Kingfish Carpaccio.

Kingfish Carpaccio.

Their special sushi.

Their special sushi.

Soft Shell Crab. The good kind of crab.

Soft Shell Crab. The good kind of crab.

Pumpkin Tempura

Pumpkin Tempura

Scallops.

Scallops.

Roasted avocado (just 1, but 4 pieces).

Roasted avocado (just 1, but 4 pieces).

CHARRED scotch fillet.

CHARRED scotch fillet.

Lamb skewers (yes, we're still eating Jap)

Lamb skewers (yes, we’re still eating Jap)

Assorted dessert?

Assorted dessert?

Have I rekt your eyes yet? Don’t worry it’s artistic I think.

All and all a pretty good meal (deal). Definitely surprised about the amount of space this place managed to dig out for themselves seeing that it is Crown St, Surry Hills o.o..

Wonder what will be next.. hmm..

Leave a Reply

