Road to Recovery: Ep1 – Knock Out

As I left the office on the 17th of December 2014 my friend offered me one piece of advice (not sure if he was trolling but I’ll take it):

Think happy thoughts, because it’ll be the first think you think about when you wake up.

I guess it was better than the other advice I got:

Make sure they mark the right knee.

Gosh!

First thing to do after waking up?

First thing to do after waking up?

A part of yesterday is a blur and technically I’m still on anesthesia (I think). I couldn’t get much rest last night and I think that was attributed to the fact that I had to wake up around 4:30am to get ready for a 6:30am arrival.

When we arrived to sign-in we were asked to wait till about 8am or so before going into the next waiting room to get measured, questioned, changed and prepped.

Are you nervous? Your blood pressure seems a bit high.

Haha, maybe just a little 🙂

There was quite a wait until I could finally go into theatre (sorry about that E!); from memory the clock said 11AM before I finally moved into the operating room and slid onto the operating table(?).

Perhaps it was a mix of sleeping too little but the next time I opened my eyes I was in the Recovery Room with the weirdest tingle in my throat (which is still here when I swallow food).

I did feel like throwing up though at one point, not sure if that was a side effect of the anesthesia or not.

Interestingly enough they pretty much said I was good to walk out without the need for any walking aid. But in the descriptions for the follow-up appointments I saw the 3 letters that I feared:

A-C-L.

I guess he really did have a check when operating, now I’ll have to wait until February to find out how damaged(?) my ligament is. Until then it’ll be recovery, 200 straight leg raises everyday, and lots of this:

"Anesthesia Plan"

“Anesthesia Plan”

But despite my leg looking like this (and unable to shower for another day):

Snug.

Snug.

There isn’t much pain, but there is definitely swelling.

Oh well, now I just have to remind myself to stay diligent and (freaking) patient with rehabilitation. Oh, and hoping that my ligament will not require further work!!

PS. thanks E and P for the massive help yesterday – really, really grateful for look out while my family is out 🙂

PSS. well done to Ref Pls for running them out of the building! Get well soon C!!

Leave a Reply

